Loading Loading

Home » Guidance for Non-Muslim » Salah or Ritual Prayer

Salah or Ritual Prayer

"Salah" is an Arabic word whose basic meaning is "supplication" Salah is the name for the obligatory prayers that are performed five times a day, and are a direct link between the worshipper and God. There is no hierarchical authority in Islam and there are no priests. It should be done on time.The Prayer must performed by facing the direction of Makkah. It is called as Qiblah.

The Five Time Prayer are as follows

Prayer Name
Number of Rakath's (Units of Prayer)
Before Sunnath Fard After Sunnath Wajib Timing of Prayer
Fajr 2 2 - - Dawn Prayer- It begins one hour and twenty minutes before Sunrise and ends about ten minutes before sunrise.
Zuhar 4 4 2 - Noon Prayer- It begins after the sun has passed the meridian and ends shortly before the Asar Prayer.
Asar 4 4 - - Afternoon Prayer - It begins when the length of the shadow of an object is equal to the object's length plus the shadow's length at noon and ends about 10 minutes before sunset.
Maghrib - 3 2 - Sunset Prayer - It begins immediately after sunset and ends before complete darkness approaches
Isha 4 4 2 3 (Witr) Night Prayer - It begins when the sky is completely dark and ends just before the Fajr Prayer
Copyrights (c) 2012 AslimTaslam.com, All Rights Reserved. Website powered by Servant of Allah.